Laminated Island Painting

I found it incredibly painstaking trying to create these two close-ups, because not only did the level of detail necessitate the painting of the corrugations of the cardboard – but the corrugations also had to be described using their shadow and not their outlines. I experimented with ink when I began painting the laminated model, but it was very slow as the ink was thick and I didn’t have distilled water with which to thin it. So I swapped mid-way to watercolour paints, which were much easier to work with and varying the intensity was much simpler.

I feel that the light/shadow technique was more successful in the painting of the laminated model, but I really like the way that the angle of the grid model painting gives a sense of being about to fall into the picture – the more I look at it, the more dizzying it is.

 

Leave a Reply

